mcinnes rotary achievers
LOUISE S. MCINNIS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL — Lainey Mendez, Dayana Lopez Rodriguez and Sheilyn Denova Paulino, with fourth-grade teacher Pam Hermes and fifth-grade teacher Emily Naghdi. PHOTOS COURTESY ROTARY CLUB OF DELAND

The Rotary Club of DeLand honored 47 winners with the 2022 Rotary Achiever Awards at a May 26 luncheon at the Wayne G. Sanborn Activity Center. Rotary President Dave Solar thanked Rotary Achiever Project Chair Bill Stevenson for all his hard work on this project, and praised the winners for their significant accomplishments as well as their leadership potential.

Rotary Achiever Awards are given annually to West Volusia elementary-school students in the fourth and fifth grades who have exhibited the greatest increase in academic achievement during the school year, based on standardized reading tests. The main goal of the Rotary Achiever Program is to instill the concept of rewards received for effort expended.

GEORGE W. MARKS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL — Amalia Lopez Sanchez, Yoselin Felix Lopez, Emma Tamayo, Brooke Kelso, Saylor Sliwa and Bella Damsel, with Principal Shannon Young and reading coach Julie Murray.
VOLUSIA PINES ELEMENTARY SCHOOL — Layla Gonzalez, Yoleimi Burgos, Jenna Hardy, Meridith Alquisiras, Marlee Richardson and Kaitlyn O’Donnell, with Principal Julie Gordon.
PIERSON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL — Shaely Hernandez, Ellen Griffin, Adileni Mancilla, Adrian Secindino, Eric Horatio Taboada and Avery Gomez, with school counselor Lisa Rice and social worker Teresa Wright.
FREEDOM ELEMENTARY SCHOOL — Brandon Cutino. Not pictured are Clair Doan, Ayden Collins-Bain, Lucy Littlefield-Richards and Yanielys Perez-Deering. Freedom’s Principal is Joy Walker.
EDITH I. STARKE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL — Yanisia Don Juan-Villa, Dayami Rodriguez and Keiatta Gillislee, with Principal Eileen Arth.

CITRUS GROVE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL — Alena Walters-Fallon, Julianna Wilson, Logan Phillips, Jhaylin Soto, Pryce Jones and Hunter Nelson, with Assistant Principal Widalis Camacho.

Rotary Achievers not photographed are Woodward Avenue Elementary School students Riley Harris, Howard Grant, Marvin Sutton, Bailey Edwards, Sciann Jackson and Lea Villa, and Blue Lake Elementary School students Micah Nyanankpe, Saige Hufford, Xadiel Leon Figueroa, Elijah Walts, April Anderson and Pedro Pereira.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here