Tony Tussing
Tony Tussing

Editor, The Beacon:

As many know, I serve as the director of the High Schools of DeLand Sports Hall of Fame.

On Oct. 22, at Spec Martin Memorial Stadium, four new members were inducted, taking the total number in the Hall of Fame to more than 75, which include the newest inductees: Walter Anderson, Rick Calkins, Toussiant Roberson and Shellie Robinson.

Those who would like to see the plaques of those inducted can visit DeLand High School after school hours or during any sporting event held in the Bulldog gym.

The purpose of this letter is to publicly thank those who helped to make this event. This would include groups such as the DeLand Kiwanis Club, which financially supports the program. It also includes the administration at DeLand High School, Simoneau Photography and Trophy Factory Plus.

There are also numerous individuals who assist, including Mayor Robert Apgar, DeLand High School Principal Dr. Melissa Carr, Wayne Struble, Damion Dunn, Kevin Caine, Lance Jenkins, Yoselin Morales and Teri Byrnes.

Anyone who would like to nominate someone for consideration can email me at Those considered are athletes, coaches or boosters representing DeLand High School, Southwestern High School or Euclid High School, all present or former high schools in DeLand.

Thank you.

Tony Tussing



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here