new deltona commission
PART OF THE NEW TEAM — A trio of freshmen and a pair of experienced Deltona leaders begin a time and journey of working together. From left are new Commissioners Stephen Colwell and Tom Burbank, Mayor Santiago Avila Jr., and re-elected Commissioner Maritza Avila-Vazquez and Commissioner Anita Bradford. Bradford’s term expires in 2024. Not shown are Commissioner Dana McCool and Commissioner-elect Jody Lee Storozuk. Storozuk is to assume office when he returns from traveling.

The biggest city in Volusia County now has a new leadership team, including some new and some seasoned members.

The newly chosen leaders, except for one of them who was traveling, and one re-elected, were sworn into office Nov. 14, with an air of celebrating a fresh start.

THE BEST FREE SHOW IN TOWN — Deltona City Commission meetings typically draw an audience, and the inauguration of new elected officials increases the turnout of families, friends and supporters.

At the top of the ticket was Santiago Avila Jr., the new mayor. Avila gained victory over Mayor Heidi Herzberg, in a rematch of their 2018 game of thrones. Herzberg expressed no bitterness or regret over her loss to her challenger.

Joining Avila as first-time members of the City Commission are Tom Burbank representing District 1, Stephen Colwell representing District 5, and Jody Lee Storozuk representing District 6. 

Storozuk, vice chair of Deltona’s Planning and Zoning Board, was elected to serve the remainder of the four-year term of former Commissioner David Sosa. Sosa had resigned earlier this year to run for the Volusia County Council, and his vacant seat was filled by the special election. Had Sosa waited longer to make his resignation effective, the City Commission may have appointed his replacement, instead of allowing voters in his district to do it.

PUBLIC OFFICIALS BECOME PRIVATE CITIZENS — In what is likely their last time together under such circumstances, departing members of the Deltona City Commission proudly show the plaques honoring them for their service. From left are former City Commissioners David Sosa and Loren King, former Mayor Heidi Herzberg and former City Commissioner Victor Ramos.

District 3 Commissioner Maritza Avila-Vazquez is now into her second term. Avila-Vazquez fended off a challenge from Tara D’Errico for the right to represent the political zone in the heart of Deltona.

Deltona’s reconstituted City Commission has already begun work together, having chosen Commissioner Anita Bradford as vice mayor. The new City Commission’s next meeting is set for 6:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 28, at Deltona City Hall, 2345 Providence Blvd. The meeting is open to the public.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here